Some things you should just keep to yourself!

I wouldn’t call myself a germophobe, but there are certain things that gross me out and I try to avoid touching them at all cost. Like the handrails at theme parks, door handles in public restrooms, the hands of men whom I don’t know. That last one was inspired by my mom, who doesn’t shake hands with people she doesn’t know, more specifically men she doesn’t know. She has said it is because men do not wash their hands after using the restroom, or at least she doesn’t actually know which ones do or don’t and therefore refuses to shake hands with strangers of the male persuasion. I thought there was something to that as men are quite a bit more “hands on” when it comes to relieving their bladders. Using that logic, I adopted her no strange men handshaking policy. That is until recently, I now have a no handshaking policy with everyone I don’t know. Why? Because it has recently come to my attention, that A LOT of women don’t wash their hands after using the restroom either! eeeewwww! How I know this is through observation. I can’t tell you how often I’ve been in a public restroom, hear the flush and then not 10 seconds later the door opening and closing as the woman who just got through flushing exits the facility WITHOUT running any water! Is somebody kidding me? People, that’s just gross! And I don’t care how clean you think you are, or how well you think you avoided getting anything on you, WASH YOUR HANDS! How do you know how clean the person who used the toilet before you was? And that person touched the flush handle and then opened the stall door. Now you have someone elses poopy germs on you. Then you go out into the world touching EVERYTHING, contaminating EVERYTHING, and worst of all, shaking hands. Nasty. Like I said, I wouldn’t consider myself a germophobe, but I do believe in handwashing as often as possible. Before and after meals, after sneezing or coughing and pretty much anytime I’ve touched something that has been touched by the general public, especially before eating!!! With that said, I bid you adieu and a Happy New Year.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

